THE CONCRETE ROUNDABOUT (TCR)

The Unofficial MK Dons Forum. Discuss and debate all things Dons
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:57 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 135 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14  Next
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:49 pm 

What ?

(another from the TCR set)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:28 pm 

Go on then - a couple over the summer months:

Absolute Beginners by Colin MacInnes - fabulous coming of age story set against the West London race riots of 1958. Beautifully caricatured Jazz/proto Mod kids emerging from the shadows of the De-Mob generation. A joyous re-read for me after 25 years this is gritty, funny, and tragic at the same time

Cats Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut- If you will, this is a dystopian tale of cold war meets science fiction, farce meets Armageddon. Impossible to say much more without spoiling, this is easy, hilarious and imaginative. If you have read Slaughterhouse 5 and wonder where to go next with Vonnegut, this is the next step

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:18 pm 

The Doors - Unhinged.
John Densmore goes to court to stop Manzarek and Krieger using the name of the band.
A lot of nice observations on life, money, and greed. (Don't get me wrong its not all about sixties stuff/dudes/man/peace/love blah blah at all)
Is he the true custodian of The Doors legacy? Or an annoying irritant with a bee in his bonnet?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:52 pm 
This is going to hurt - Adam Kay

A hilarious and harrowing insight into the life of a doctor in today’s nhs.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:22 pm 

Beyond a Boundary - CLR James